top of page
cavanaghrebecca7

ghost on my shoulder

The ghost of you

touches my shoulder lightly.


A cold wedge sits in my breast bone

as you knock over an old photo.


Its aged frame crashing to the floor.

Smashed glass

once dangerous

now, a welcome reminder of your presence.


So,

I light a cigarette, place your hat on

your ashes

displacing the dust on the un-opened box.


I try to warm myself up

in the smell of

your

cigarette ashes-

melt the wedge in my breast bone

with the smoke.


Try to use my mind’s eye

to remember past conversations,

old rituals- long since cremated

but a knocked over photo frame

is just a knocked over photo frame.


I put the photo back gently

stump out the cigarette

leave the hat where it is

let the coldness settle.


Leave.


As the ghost of you

touches my shoulder lightly.

©Rebecca Cavanagh

Recent Posts

See All

Σχόλια


bottom of page